Stay Positive

Yellow Sneaks

I work in sales and the spring selling season can often seem like a never-ending routine.  It can be monotonous and sometimes the little voice in your head slowly creeps in and speaks pessimistic thoughts.

Recently, at a work function, it was recommended that we read Seth Godin’s March 29th post about “Self Talk”.  If you don’t already subscribe to his blog I highly recommend it.  (See link to his post below).

Seth talks about the importance of positive self talk.  One portion of his post hit home for me:

“And negative self talk is hungry for external corroboration. One little voice in the ether that agrees with your internal critic is enough to put you in a tailspin.”

I find this so true, not only in the workplace but in running.  How many times have you been racing- maybe pushing up a hill and you overhear someone uttering words like “this hill is endless” or perhaps someone besides you notes the weather “this heat is going to kill me”?  I know this has happened to me.  These small words suddenly corroborate every negative thought I was already having.  Those thoughts now become truths.  Now the hill is impossible and the heat is unbearable.

On the flip side, a few days ago, I was running with my husband and noticed the impact of positivity.  He has been working hard to qualify for Boston 2016 and has come very close multiple times.  Because of this I know he needs to amp up his training, which for me means either I get faster or I lose a running partner.  Our workout on Tuesday was an easy paced 8 mile run which meant that I was going to run at his easy pace.  We were keeping a great pace and holding each other accountable until mile 5.  I started to slow down.  He could tell and instead of going ahead without me he looked over and said something along the lines of “You’re doing great.  You’ve been keeping pace this far- we only have a short stretch left to go.  Let’s do this”.  Such a simple notion and my mind transformed.  I felt confident and we ran the last 3 miles at a faster pace than we had been going.  With positive thoughts I was able to not only keep up but improve upon what I had been doing.

Stay Positive!  The little thoughts can take you a long way! 

Seth Godin’s “Self Talk” from:

http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2015/03/self-talk.html

Leave a Reply

